Skip navigation

Important Update:

The university has started its phased reopening. Most campus buildings will remain closed to the public until July 1. Many services remain available virtually or by appointment only. To learn more about current operating procedures for campus offices and services, view the university's reopening plan.
For more information about the university's continuing response to the COVID-19 pandemic, visit our COVID-19 website.

The Oklahoma IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (OK-INBRE) program was reviewed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Research Competitiveness Program in April 2010. In their final AAAS report, the committee mandated that the OK-INBRE program facilitate the creation of a Deans' Council comprised of deans from all six OK-INBRE partner Primarily Undergraduate Institutions (PUIs). The Deans' Council facilitates and supports interaction at the upper administrative levels among the six partner PUIs that comprise the OK-INBRE network. The Deans' Council strengthens the OK-INBRE system by finding ways of dealing effectively with issues such as faculty workload, that hamper the various PUI institutions from making greater gains in instilling research as an important mandate and economic driver in their individual regions of the state. The Deans' Council will meet at least two times per year to address these and other issues.

Council Members

Wei R. Chen, Ph.D.
Chair, OK INBRE Deans' Council

Dean, College of Mathematics & Science
Director, Center for Interdisciplinary Biomedical Education and Research
Professor, Biophotonics Research Laboratory, Department of Engineering and Physics
University of Central Oklahoma
100 N. University Dr., Box 177
Edmond, OK  73034
wchen@uco.edu
Phone: 405 974-5147
Fax: 405 974-3824
Sharon LaFave, Administrative Assistant
slafave@uco.edu

Pam Hathorn
Dean, College of Science & Health Professions
Northeastern State University
600 N. Grand Ave.
Tahlequah, OK  74464-2302
hathorn@nsuok.edu
Phone: 918 444-3833
Fax: 918 458-2325

Bryon Clark
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Southeastern State University
Administration 305
1405 N. 4th
Durant, OK  74701
bkclark@se.edu
Phone: 580 745-2200
Fax: 580 745-7474

Peter Grant
Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
100 Campus Dr.
Weatherford, OK  73096
peter.grant@swosu.edu
Phone: 580 774-7152
Fax: 580 774-7085
Haley Kliewer, Administrative Assistant
haley.kliewer@swosu.edu

Von Underwood
Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
Cameron University
Mus 122
2800 West Gore Blvd.
Lawton, OK  73505
vonu@cameron.edu
Phone: 580 581-2491
Fax: 580 581-2325

Alonzo Peterson
Dean, School of Arts & Sciences
Langston University
PO Box 1500
Langston, OK  73050
afpeterson@langston.edu
Phone: 405 466-3419
Fax: 405 466-2931

Diana Spencer
Biotechnology Coordinator
Tulsa Community College - Southeast Campus
10300 E. 81st Street S.
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74133-4513
diana.spencer@tulsacc.edu
Phone: 918 595-7742

Max Simmons
Dean, Division of Math, Engineering, and Physical Science
Oklahoma City Community College
7777 South May Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK  73159-4444
msimmons@occc.edu
Phone: 405 682-7508
Fax:  405 682-7805

Reonna Slagell-Gossen
Division Director of Math and Sciences
Redlands Community College
1300 S. Country Club Road
El Reno, OK 73036
gossenr@redlandscc.edu
Phone: 405 422-1457

John Poolaw
Vice President Student and Academic Services
Comanche Nation College
1608 SW 9th Street
Lawton, OK  73501
jpoolaw@cnc.cc.ok.us
Phone: 580 591-0203
Fax: 580 591-0643