Skip navigation


Zimmerman Awarded Vanderford Award for Excellence in Teaching

Mark Zimmerman

The Vanderford Faculty Awards are given to faculty to honor outstanding work. Recipients receive $1,000 and a plaque funded by the estate of Central alumni Austin and Cleo Patra Vanderford. This award went to MCOM’s Mark Zimmerman, M.F.A., Associate Professor of Mass Communication, for teaching.


MCOM's Dr. Duty Recognized for Work With Hispanic Success Initiative

Dr. David DutyThe Masonic Endowment for Transformative Learning Award is given to organizations that exemplify the university’s commitment to provide transformative learning experiences to its students. The second-place winner is Hispanic Success Initiative, which promotes a sense of belonging to the UCO and Oklahoma City community. Co-Advised by Dr. David Duty, Lecturer in Mass Communication. 

MCOM's Hight Receives Citizen's Bank Leadership and Civic Engagement Award

Joe Hight and President Don Betz

The Citizen’s Bank Leadership and Civic Engagement Award is given to a faculty or staff member who leads by example and is involved in the community. Each recipient receives $1,000 and an engraved clock. This year’s recipient is MCOM’s Joe Hight, artist-in-residence and E.K. Gaylord Endowed Chair of Journalism Ethics. 

Strat Comm's Sandy Martin Wins Modeling The Way Award

Sandra Martin with Don BetzMCOM Student Kalen Russell Named 2018 Newman Civic Fellow MCOM Students Again Win Awards at Oklahoma Broadcast Education Assoc. Awards

The URS Modeling the Way Award is given to members of the UCO community who consistently lead by example and live the mission, values and goals of the university. Each recipient is awarded a $1,000 check and a Waterford crystal memento, funded by URS. This award went to MCOM ’s Sandy Martin.



MCOM Student Kalen Russell Named 2018 Newman Civic Fellow

Kalen Russell

University of Central Oklahoma senior Kalen Russell, a strategic communications major from Muskogee, Oklahoma, recently earned recognition as one of Campus Compact’s 2018 Newman Civic Fellows.

Campus Compact, a Boston-based nonprofit organization, working to advance the public purposes of higher education, announced 268 students, including Russell, who comprise the organization’s 2018 cohort of Newman Civic Fellows.'

Read more here.


MCOM Students Again Win Awards at Oklahoma Broadcast Education Assoc. Awards

Broadcast students in studioThe Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association (OBEA) recently honored University of Central Oklahoma Professional Media students at its annual student broadcast competition, with MCOM students receiving 13 awards for student-produced radio and television broadcasts.

Twelve Oklahoma universities and colleges participated in the OBEA student competition, which generated nearly 230 entries. Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Enid, Woodward and Lawton media professionals judged the student productions.

Students will be presented with their awards at the Oklahoma Association of Broadcaster’s Annual Conference April 19-20 at the River Casino Resort in Tulsa.

Read the full list of awards that UCO MCOM students received here.