Skip navigation
Everett Southwest Literary Award

The Everett Family Southwest Literary Award, which is just one of the many generous donations given through the Everett Family Foundation Fund, honors the late Dr. Mark Allen Everett. The Everett Family Literary Award is open to all students and faculty members residing in Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Texas, excluding current and former paid employees, faculty, and students of the University of Central Oklahoma.

"This award is unique because it aims to reward writers in this region of the country and because of the generous prize amount," notes Constance Squires, Professor of English at the University of Central Oklahoma. Dr. Squires, whose debut novel, Along the Watchtower, was published by Riverhead Books, oversees the selection process and serves as the preliminary judge along with a team of graduate students.

Things to consider:

  • Manuscripts should be double-spaced and continuously paginated.  
  • The manuscript must be unpublished, although it may be under consideration.
  • This award does not include publication, so we feel no conflict of interest with your efforts to publish your work and will be happy to hear about it if your manuscript goes under contract.
  • Please provide two cover pages -- one with author contact information and one with only the title of the collection.
  • Author’s name should not appear anywhere within the manuscript.
  • Past students or employees of the University of Central Oklahoma are ineligible.
  • The contest submission fee is $15.00. Checks or money orders accepted.


Please send a manuscript, together with the entry fee and SASE for contest results here:

The Everett Southwest Literary Prize
c/o English Department
University of Central Oklahoma
100 N. University Drive
Box 184
Edmond, OK 73034