Skip navigation

Department of English | New Plains Student Publishing


About the Series

Sherman Chaddlesone

New Plain Student Publishing hosts the Sherman Chaddlesone Arts and Letters Lecture Series annually on Indigenous Peoples Day.

The Chaddlesone Series was established in 1996 by the eminent Kiowa artist Sherman Chaddlesone (1947-2013) to host readings, presentations, and cultural events that showcase different aspects of American Indian art and culture. These events give the Central community opportunities to interact with iconic, established, and emerging American Indian artists. 

Past speakers have included Arigon Starr, Carolyn Dunn, Steven Paul Judd, d.g. smalling, Joy Harjo, Neal Diamond, Joseph Erb, Jennifer Elise Foerster, Diane Glancy, and Tim Tingle.

Past Events