Get Involved

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team consists of students, faculty, staff, university departments and community agencies that are working together to create a healthier campus.  The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative, with various work groups carrying out the objectives of the team.  The UCO Wellness Center provides the management of UCO's Healthy Campus Initiative.

__________________________________________________________________________

1

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS LEADERSHIP TEAM

The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative:

Encourages cooperation and communication of the work groups and the campus community; ensures inclusivenss for all members of the campus and surround community; identifies and secures funding to support the initiative; provides general direction to the work groups; sustatins efforts over time; makes program decisionsand policy recommendation in keeping with the best interest of the initiative; and develops marketing plans for efforts.

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team meets on the second Thursday of the month (February, March, April, May, September, October & November) from 2 pm to 3:30 pm at the Wellness Center, Room 104.  This is an OPEN meeting.

For more information on the UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team, contact Danielle Dill at ddill1@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS WORK GROUPS

Work group are based on campus health priority areas. Campus health priority areas for 2012-2014 include physical activity, nutrition, stress management, and sexual health.

________________________________________________

PHYSICAL ACTIVITY WORK GROUP

Vision/Objective - Improve health, fitness and quality of life through daily physical activity; increase individuals meeting national guidelines for physical activity.

Program Focus 2012-2014 : ACSM Exercise is Medicine®; Post Rehabilitative Fitness Programs for Student Veterans

For more information on the physical activity work group, contact Johnny Watley jwatley@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

NUTRITION WORK GROUP

Vision/Objective - Promote health and reduce chronic disease associated with diet and weight; increase rate of healthy BMI and weight.

Program Focus 2012-2014:  Campus Healthy Vending Options; National Nutrition Month 

For more information on the nutrition work group, contact Carlie Wellington at cwellington@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

STRESS MANAGEMENT WORK GROUP

Vision/Objective - Improve mental health and ensure access to appropriate quality mental health service; decrease adverse impact of stress.

Program Focus 2012-2014: Stress Management Learning Module; Curriculum Integration - Suicide Prevention and Healthy Life Skills; Campus and Community Health Resource Guide

For more information on the stress management work group, contact Rachelle Franz at rfranz@uco.edu or Christy Vincent at cvincent2@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

SEXUAL HEALTH WORK GROUP

Vision/Objective - Improve sexual health outcomes.

Program Focus 2012-2014:  Sexual Health Awareness Week: Sexual Attitude Re-Assessment (SAR) Workshop; HPV Vaccination Clinic

For more information on the sexual health work group, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu or Sara Cole at scole@uco.edu


For more information on Leadership Team activities, contact Danielle Dill at ddill1@uco.edu or 974-3140 or ucohealthycampus@uco.edu

UCO Mercy Health partnership

WC Connect