Get Involved

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team consists of students, faculty, staff, university departments and community agencies that are working together to create a healthier campus.  The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative, with various work groups carrying out the objectives of the team.  The UCO Wellness Center provides the management of UCO's Healthy Campus Initiative.

__________________________________________________________________________

1

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS LEADERSHIP TEAM

The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative:

Encourages cooperation and communication of the work groups and the campus community; ensures inclusiveness for all members of the campus and surround community; identifies and secures funding to support the initiative; provides general direction to the work groups; sustains efforts over time; makes program decisions and policy recommendation in keeping with the best interest of the initiative; and develops marketing plans for efforts.

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team meets on the first Thursday of the month (September, October, November, February, March & April) from 2 pm to 3:30 pm. This is an OPEN meeting.

Spring 2016 Meeting Schedule:

  • Thursday, April 4th: Virginia Lamb Living Room, HES Building, 2-3:30 pm
  • Thursday, March 3rd: Virginia Lamb Living Room, HES Building, 2-3:30 pm
  • Thursday, April 7th: Virginia Lamb Living Room, HES Building, 2-3:30 pm

For more information on the UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu.  

_______________________________________________

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS WORK GROUPS

Work groups are based on campus health priority areas. Campus health priority areas for 2014-2016 include physical activity & nutrition; mental health & well-being; sexual health; and environmental health.

New priority areas will be selected in summer 2016, after the campus National College Health Assessment data is received.

________________________________________________

PHYSICAL ACTIVITY & NUTRITION WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve health, fitness and quality of life through daily physical activity; promote health and reduce chronic disease associated with diet and weight. 

Program Focus 2014-2016: Campus-Wide Physical Activity Incentive Campaign; Campus Healthy Vending Machine Options; National Nutrition Month Education & Awareness.

For more information on the physical activity and nutrition work group, contact Khari Huff at khuff4@uco.edu, Rachelle Franz at rfranz@uco.edu, or Carlie Wellington at cwellington@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

MENTAL HEALTH & WELL-BEING WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve mental health and well-bring by ensuring access to appropriate, quality mental health services that decrease adverse impact of stress and enhance student success. 

Program Focus 2014-2016: Adjunct Faculty Learning Module & Orientation Program; Suicide Prevention Education & Awareness; Mental Well-Being Awareness & Education.

For more information on the stress management work group, contact Julia Reed at jreed31@uco.edu or Georgia Fiering at gfiering@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

SEXUAL HEALTH WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve sexual health outcomes through comprehensive sex education and providing access to sexual health services and programs on campus.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  Sexual Health Awareness & Education; Access to sexual health resources on campus.

For more information on the sexual health work group, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu or Sara Cole scole13@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

SEXUAL ASSAULT WORK GROUP

Vision - Provide a safe environment and culture that does not tolerate violence or victim blaming and instead fosters healthy relationships.

Program Focus 2014-2016: Violence Prevention Bystander Training and Education; Sexual Assault Awareness Education and Programming.

For more information on the sexual assault work group, contact Michelle Stansel at mstansel@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH WORK GROUP

Vision: Promote health for all through a healthy environment.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  Reduce single-use plastic on campus; Use biodegradable products for food; Reduce food waste.

For more information on the environmental health work group, contact Eric Hemphill at ehemphill@uco.edu  

___________________________________________________

MISSION INTEGRATION

Vision: Support student retention efforts and increase curricular and co-curricular partnerships for student learning and success.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  UCO Healthy Campus Student Scholarship, Student Veteran Success & Success Advisor Training.

For more information on the mission integration work group, contact Christy Vincent at cvincent2@uco.edu

___________________________________________________

For more information on Leadership Team activities, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu or 405-974-2320

Healthy campus logo

WC Connect