Get Involved

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team consists of students, faculty, staff, university departments and community agencies that are working together to create a healthier campus.  The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative, with various work groups carrying out the objectives of the team.  The UCO Wellness Center provides the management of UCO's Healthy Campus Initiative.

__________________________________________________________________________

1

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS LEADERSHIP TEAM

The Leadership Team provides general oversight of the initiative:

Encourages cooperation and communication of the work groups and the campus community; ensures inclusiveness for all members of the campus and surround community; identifies and secures funding to support the initiative; provides general direction to the work groups; sustains efforts over time; makes program decisions and policy recommendation in keeping with the best interest of the initiative; and develops marketing plans for efforts.

The UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team meets on the second Thursday of the month (September, October, November, February, March & April) from 2 pm to 3:30 pm at the Wellness Center, Room 104.  This is an OPEN meeting.

For more information on the UCO Healthy Campus Leadership Team, contact Danielle Dill at ddill1@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

UCO HEALTHY CAMPUS WORK GROUPS

Work groups are based on campus health priority areas. Campus health priority areas for 2014-2016 include physical activity & nutrition; mental health & well-bring; sexual health; and environmental health.

________________________________________________

PHYSICAL ACTIVITY & NUTRITION WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve health, fitness and quality of life through daily physical activity; promote health and reduce chronic disease associated with diet and weight. 

Program Focus 2014-2016: Campus-Wide Physical Activity Incentive Campaign; Campus Healthy Vending Machine Options; National Nutrition Month Education & Awareness Program.

For more information on the physical activity work group, contact Shea McMullin-Ware at smcmullin@uco.edu or Rachelle Franz at rfranz@uco.edu

_______________________________________________

MENTAL HEALTH & WELL-BEING WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve mental health and well-bring by ensuring access to appropriate, quality mental health services that decrease adverse impact of stress and enhance student success. 

Program Focus 2014-2016: Adjunct Faculty Learning Module & Orientation Program; Suicide Prevention Education & Awareness Program.

For more information on the stress management work group, contact Julia Reed at jreed31@uco.edu or Georgia Fiering at gfiering@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

SEXUAL HEALTH WORK GROUP

Vision - Improve sexual health outcomes.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  Sexual Health & Sexual Assault Awareness & Education Programs; Violence Prevention Bystander Training Program.

For more information on the sexual health work group, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu , Sara Cole scole13@uco.edu or Michelle Stansel at mstansel@uco.edu

_________________________________________________

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH - NEW

Vision: Promote health for all through a healthy environment.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  Under development.

For more information on the environmental health work group, contact Cia Verschelden at cverschelden@uco.edu or Amy Rogalsky at a rogalsky@uco.edu

___________________________________________________

MISSION INTEGRATION

Vision: Support student retention efforts and increase curricular and co-curricular partnerships for student learning and success.

Program Focus 2014-2016:  UCO Healthy Campus Student Scholarship, Student Veteran Success & Success Advisor Training.

For more information on the mission integration work group, contact Christy Vincent at cvincent2@uco.edu

___________________________________________________

For more information on Leadership Team activities, contact Brittney Criswell at bcriswell@uco.edu or 405-974-2320 or ucohealthycampus@uco.edu

UCO Mercy Health partnership

WC Connect