College of Liberal Arts: Liberal Arts Symposium

Symposium 2015


COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS TO OFFER VALUABLE DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS AT ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM

The University of Central Oklahoma's College of Liberal Arts will host its annual symposium from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Wednesday, April 1, 2015, offering students the opportunity to present their exemplary writing and research and to participate in other academic and creative activities. Classes in the College of Liberal Arts are pre-empted during the event to allow students to participate and to give classmates the chance to experience the scholarly and creative work of their fellow students.

"Symposium is our college celebration of the life-long learning cultivated by the Liberal Arts—learning based on open-ended questions, spontaneity, and the face-to-face interactions between instructors and students," said Mary Brodnax, Ph.D., chair of the Liberal Arts Symposium Committee and professor of Humanities and Philosophy at Central.

"Our students’ presentations develop in a personalized environment that all of us, faculty members and students, are very proud of. The UCO College of Liberal Arts produces graduates who value tradition and adapt to contemporary conditions, work independently to acquire knowledge and skills, and communicate well. Symposium also gives students a chance to explore topics outside classes they are enrolled in -- and perhaps discover a class they would like to take before graduating."

Scott Samuelson will be the guest speaker for this Symposium 2015. Samuelson is the author of The Deepest Human Life: An Introduction to Philosophy for Everyone (University of Chicago Press, 2014) as well as various essays and articles, both scholarly and popular, including “Would You Hire Socrates?” in the Wall Street Journal, “Why I Teach Plato to Plumbers” in The Atlantic, and “We’re Not ‘Just Animals’” in The Philosophers’ Magazine.  A graduate of Grinnell College (BA, 1995) and Emory University (PhD, 2001), he currently teaches philosophy and humanities at Kirkwood Community College in Iowa City, Iowa.  He writes movie reviews for Little Village and hosts Ethical Perspectives on the News, a Sunday-morning talk show on the local ABC affiliate.  For the past decade he’s also worked as an occasional sous-chef at Simone’s Plain and Simple, a French restaurant on a gravel road.

The Liberal Arts Symposium Committee is:

Humanities & Philosophy       Mary Brodnax, Chair       mbrodnax@uco.edu
Criminal Justice                    Jaime Burns       jburns15@uco.edu
English                                Leslie Similly       lsimilly@uco.edu
History & Geography             Michelle Brym       mbrym@uco.edu
Mass Communication            Jesse Miller       jmiller95@uco.edu
Modern Languages                Guillermo Martinez       gmartinezsotelo@uco.edu
Political Science                    Loren Gatch       lgatch@uco.edu
Sociology & SAS                   Nina Michalikova       nmichalikova@uco.edu
                                          Vincent Laus       vlaus@uco.edu

Individual Submission Form in Adobe Acrobat format

Group Submission Form in Adobe Acrobat format


Full HTML Version