Student Organizations

Get Involved

LA Student Organizations

Alpha Chi: Alpha Chi is a national college honor society that admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution's juniors, seniors, and graduate students. For more information, contact Dr. Siegfried Heit at sheit@uco.edu or Dr. Margaret Musgrove at mmusgrove2@uco.edu.

Alpha Phi Sigma: Alpha Phi Sigma is the only Criminal Justice Honor Society for Criminal Justice Majors. The society recognizes academic excellence of undergraduate, graduate students of criminal justice, as well as juris doctorate. For more information, contact Dr. Elizabeth Maier, emaier@uco.edu.

Association for Women's Studies: The Association of Women's Studies (AWS) is dedicated to promoting Women's Studies at UCO by offering students and faculty the opportunity to interact, to support each other in personal and professional growth, and to discuss issues pertinent to the discipline of Women's Studies. For more information, contact Dr. Brenda Chappell at bchappell@uco.edu.

Chess & Games Club: A group of intellectually talented students who use their most useful muscle in their body to compete and dominate in a friendly manner, UCO's chess club would love for you to join us in the sharpening and honing of your chess and gaming strategies! For more information contact Dr. Mark Silcox at msilcox@uco.edu.

Criminal Justice Club: Hey come check out the Criminal Justice Club! Do you have an interest in law enforcement? the criminal justice system? meeting new people? Well you've come to the right place! For more information, contact Dr. Elizabeth Maier at emaier@uco.edu or Dr. Don Mizell at dmizell@uco.edu.

Democratic Socialists: We fight for the extension of democracy into all aspects of social life, including the economy. Democratic socialism also means fighting non-economic inequalities of power - including all forms of racism and sexism. Currently we meet in LAR 234 at 12:00 PM every other Monday. For more information email Dr. Jeff Plaks at jplaks@uco.edu.

English Graduate Organization: The English Graduate Organization (EGO) provides a wide range of social, service and professional development opportunities for graduate students in English as well as for undergraduate students who are interested in pursuing graduate degrees in the field of English Studies.  For more information contact Dr. Allen Rice at alrice@uco.edu.

English Society: The English Society, which is one of UCO’s oldest student organizations, promotes the study of language, literature and writing. In recent semesters, the English Society has sponsored film screenings, educational trips, and book sales.  The English Society also co-sponsors the annual Language and Linguistics Student Conference. For more information contact Dr. Amy Carrell at acarrell@uco.edu.

Film Society: The Film Society actively promotes the study, appreciation and production of films on the UCO campus by sponsoring events including film screenings, guest speakers, and film-making competitions.  For further information contact Dr. John Parris Springer at jpspringer@uco.edu.

French Club: For more information, contact Dr. Cathy Webster at cwebster6@uco.edu or Alix Mazuet at amazuet@uco.edu.

Future Museum Professionals Organization: The goal of FMPO is to maximize the resources available to the students in the Museum Studies program by fostering communication with each other while working to support the Laboratory of History Museum Staff as well as the Museum Board. It is open to undergraduate or graduate students wanting to partake in professional development, networking and volunteering with museums, historical societies, historic sites, zoos and botanical gardens, historic houses, living history museums, tribal cultural centers and other museum-related institutions. For more information, contact Heidi Vaughn, Director of the Laboratory of History Museum, at hvaughn@uco.edu.

German Klub: For more information, contact Dr. Rudi Nollert at hnollert@uco.edu.

Geography Student Organization:  The Geography Student Organization promotes the understanding of geographic knowledge, service, and field experiences.  Membership is open to all UCO students.  For more information, contact Dr. Doug Hurt at dhurt1@uco.edu.

Language Society: The purpose of the Language Society is to encourage the academic study of language in all of its aspects and to encourage students to explore the diverse and wide-ranging academic field of linguistics.  The Language Society co-sponsors the annual Language and Linguistics Student Conference.  For further information contact Dr. Amy Carrell at acarrell@uco.edu.

LIP - UCO (Literature in Performance): L.I.P stands for “Literature in Performance.” We invite faculty, staff, students, and the general public to all of our events, which support the presentation and discussion of all forms of literature! We especially encourage poetry readings, film screenings, script readings, and guest speakers. We also like comic books, stand-up comedy, music, and all sorts of associated arts! Our goal stands to encourage and embrace all those who love not only writing, but also witnessing the written word jump to life!

We sponsor Saturday Afternoon Live!, an open-mic reading at the Paramount, OKC on historic film row in downtown Oklahoma City each Saturday at 2 p.m., which is followed by screenwriting Saturdays from 4-6 p.m. We also host a variety of activities in the Pegasus Theatre every Monday evening at 7 p.m. For more information, contact Mr. James Daro at jdaro@uco.edu.

Medieval Society: For more information contact Dr. Steven Law at slaw@uco.edu or Dr. Teresa Vaughn at tvaughn@uco.edu.

National Communication Association: For more information, visit the Department of Mass Communication page.

National Organization for Women (NOW - UCO chapter): The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States. NOW has 500,000 contributing members and 550 chapters in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Since its founding in 1966, NOW's goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women. NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society. For more information, contact Dr. Lindsey Churchill at lchurchill@uco.edu.

Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters: For more information, visit the Department of Mass Communication page.

Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association: For more information, visit the Department of Mass Communication page.

Oklahoma Press Association: For more information, visit the Department of Mass Communication page.

Phi Alpha Theta: We are a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of history together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways. For more information contact Dr. Michael Springer at mspringer@uco.edu.

Pi Sigma Alpha: The National Political Science Honor Society, is the only honor society for college students of political science and government in the United States. For more information contact Dr. Jan Hardt at jhardt@uco.edu or Dr. Brett Sharp at bsharp@uco.edu.

Public Relations Society of America: For more information, visit the Department of Mass Communication page.

SAFE: The Student Alliance for Equality (SAFE) is a registered student organization that provides support for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender students, faculty, staff members, alumni, and allies at the University of Central Oklahoma, as well as for members of the surrounding communities. For more information contact Dr. David Macey at dmacey@uco.edu.

Sigma Tau Delta: The Chi Gamma Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, promotes academic excellence within the field of English Studies and contributes to the cultural life of the UCO community by sponsoring a variety of academic, social and professional development activities throughout the year. For more information contact Dr. Sandra Mayfield at smayfield@uco.edu.

Sociology Club: For more information contact Brenda Chappell at bchappell@uco.edu.

Spanish Club: For more information contact Dr. Rosa Bird at rbird@uco.edu.

Symposium of Philosophy: For more information contact Dr. Mark Silcox at msilcox@uco.edu.

UCentral Media: For more information visit the Department of Mass Communication page.





Full HTML Version