College of Liberal Arts: Department of English: Everett Southwest Literary Award

The Everett Southwest Literary Award

The Everett Family Southwest Literary Award, which is just one of the many generous donations given through the Everett Family Foundation Fund, honors the late Dr. Mark Allen Everett.  The Everett Family Literary Award is open to all students and faculty members residing in Oklahoma, New Mexico and Texas, excluding current and former paid employees, faculty and students of the University of Central Oklahoma.

"This award is unique because it aims to reward writers in this region of the country and because of the generous prize amount," notes Constance Squires, Associate Professor of English at the University of Central Oklahoma.  Dr. Squires, whose debut novel, Along the Watchtower, was published by Riverhead Books in 2011, oversees the selection process and serves as preliminary judge along with a team of graduate students.  The American Book Award-winning poet Allison Hedge Coke will be this year's final judge.

For the fifth contest season of the Everett Southwest Literary Award, we are accepting poetry manuscripts of 75 or more pages from October 5, 2014 until December 5, 2014; the winner will be announced in the spring of 2015.  The author of the winning manuscript will receive $5,000 and will be invited to the University of Central Oklahoma to give a reading.

Submission Guidelines:

If you have questions, drop us a line at  Please send your manuscript, together with the entry fee and SASE for contest results, to

The Everett Southwest Literary Prize

Department of English

University of Central Oklahoma

100 N. University Dr., Box 184

Edmond, OK 73034-5209

Full HTML Version