logo

UCO College of Mathematics and Science Scholar Search

An Undergraduate Research Network

Scholar search is a centralized database for undergraduates within the UCO College of Mathematics and Science who are seeking on-campus research opportunities. Research projects are listed below by department and faculty member. Undergraduates interested in a particular project can complete and submit the application form here for consideration as a research participant. 

Biology

Dr. Troy Baird
Sexual Selection, Signalling, and the Evolution of Social Behavior in Collared Lizards
405 974-5776, HOH 301H, tbaird@uco.edu

Dr. James Bidlack
Plant Anatomy and Physiology
405 974-5927, HOH 301B, jbidlack@uco.edu

Dr. Christopher Butler
Effects of climate change on population, community, and landscape ecology
405 974-5782, HOH 301G, cbutler11@uco.edu

Dr. William Caire
Mammalian Ecology and Biology
405 974-5480, HOH 401, wcaire@uco.edu

Dr. Michelle Haynie
Population Genetics
405 974-5774, HOH 200B, mhaynie@uco.edu

Dr. Steven Karpowicz
Genetics, genomics, and molecular biology of plants and algae
405 974-5773, HOH 200F, skarpowicz@uco.edu

Dr. Wayne Lord
Insect Ecology
405 974-6918, FSI 110E, wlord1@uco.edu

Dr. Melville Vaughan
Cell Biology of Wound Healing, Aging, and Cancer of the Skin
405 974-5725, HOH 301F, mvaughan4@uco.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Lilian Chooback
Cloning, Expression, and Purification of Yeast Aminotransferase
405 974-5481, HOH 314G, lchooback@uco.edu

Dr. Steven Meier
Synthesis of Late-Transition Metal Catalysts for Organic Transformation
405 974-5464, HOH 320F, smeier@uco.edu

Computer Science

Dr. Jicheng Fu
Intelligent Guidance on Wheelchair Usage for People with Spinal Cord Injuries
405 974-5704, MCS 127, jfu@uco.edu

Dr. Myung Ah (Grace) Park
Energy Saving and Fault-Tolerance in Wireless Ad-Hoc/Sensor/Mesh Networks
405 974-5292, MCS 125, mpark5@uco.edu

Dr. Gang Qian
Developing Novel Mobile Applications to Enhance Teaching Effectiveness and the Learning Environment in Computer Science Education
405 974-5716, MCS 117B, gqian@uco.edu

Engineering & Physics

Dr. Alaeddin Abu-Abed
Biological and chemical liquid crystal based sensors using optical and capacitive transduction
405 974-5934, HOH 221S, aabuabed@uco.edu

Dr. Wei Chen
Laser Immunotherapy for Treatment of Metastatic Tumors
405 974-5198, HOH 214, wchen@uco.edu

Dr. Morshed Khandaker
Development of soft and hard tissue biomaterials for orthopedic applications
405 974-5935, HOH 221H, mkhandaker@uco.edu

 Dr. Evan Lemley
Fluid Flow in Porous Media and Microfluidics
405 974-5198, HOH 221D, elemley@uco.edu

Dr. Gang Xu
Cellular and Subcellular Biomechanics of Cilia and Flagella
405 974-5461, HOH 221B, gxu@uco.edu

Mathematics & Statistics

Dr. Brittany Bannish
Mathematical Physiology and Modeling Blood Clot Degradation
405 974-5252, MCS 102, bbannish@uco.edu

Dr. Sean Laverty
Mathematical ecology and epidemiology
405 974-5942, MCS 152, slaverty@uco.edu

Dr. Tracy Morris
Project SCHOLAR
405 974-5218, MCS 146, tmorris2@uco.edu

Dr. Charlotte Simmons
Coding Theory, Cryptology, and the History of Mathematics
405 974-2722, HOH 208, ckisimmons@uco.edu

Nursing

Dr. Linda Rider
Health of Newborns and Mothers
405 974-5176, CHS 121A, lrider@uco.edu