College of Education and Professional Studies

Join us on FacebookUrban Teacher Preparation Academy

The Urban Teacher Preparation Academy (UTPA) is one of the nation’s premier teacher preparation programs for candidates driven to make a difference in the urban teaching environment. This unique and growing partnership with Oklahoma City Public Schools consists of current UCO and University of Oklahoma teacher candidates. Oklahoma State University candidates will begin participating in fall of 2015. UTPA offers the following advantages for student teachers:

  • Paid teaching assistantship with Oklahoma City Public Schools after the 12th week of student teaching, plus health and teacher retirement benefits
  • A semester of pre-service community involvement activities prior to student teaching
  • Enhanced professional development and mentoring offered by the University, district and respective schools
  • Preferential recruitment status with OKCPS upon program completion
  • Two additional years of in-service (while teaching) mentorship from National Board Certified teachers
  • A professional network of Academy members
  • Special consideration for scholarships and tuition waivers available to Academy members
  • A unique, one-of-a-kind teacher preparation track that serves Oklahoma City Public Schools


Applications are available every August for those candidates who are ready to student teach in the fall semester.  Applications for Fall 2016 are due by Friday, March 4, 2016

Frequently Asked Questions

Partnership Schools

Urban Teacher Preparation Academy

UTPA Cohort #5

UTPA Cohort #5

FRONT: Jonathan Johnson (OU), Chelsie Johnson (UCO), Ava Hidalgo (UCO), Alexandra Schradle (UCO), Alicia Scott (UCO), Steven Pamplin (UCO)BACK: Ashley Langdale (UCO), Ashley Constable (UCO), Jannette Guerrero (OU), Danielle Platt (UCO), Leah Allen (UCO), Amanda Mumme (OU), Andrea Nance (UCO), Misty Henry (OU), Shaniqua Wells (UCO), Autumn Wilkins (OU)

UTPA Cohort #4

UTPA Cohort Group 4

DeJuan Naff (UCO), Barbara Gonzales (UCO), Karen Brown (UCO), Elizabeth Wilkins (OU), Kira Roth (OU), Heather Berry (UCO), Teneisha Baker (UCO), Daniel Saunders (UCO), Brooke Lee (OU), Teresa Anderson (UCO), Alonna Price (UCO), and Megan Teer (UCO)

UTPA Cohort #3

UTPA Cohort 3

Dr. James Machell(CEPS Dean), Jasmine Smith, Jennifer Reinhardt, Nikki Waller, Brandy Ledesma, Billy Jack Elles, Kimberly Hunt, Jacqueline Foster, Karl Springer(Superintendent, Oklahoma City Public Schools), Lindsay Pfaff, Nicole Foust, Heather Perry, Tiffany Leach and Jennifer Lopez

UTPA Cohort #2

UTPA Cohort Group 2

Robyn Hilger-Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools, Genise Morgan, Corbie Jackson, Samaya Brown, Shannon Larsen, Vivian Le, Candise Chastka, Dina Torres, Cendy Hansen, Courtney Swain, Kelsee Dyess, Adrian Rosado, and Kristen Richardson

UTPA Cohort #1

UTPA Cohort Group 1


Stephanie Cammack, Jessica Martinez, Sherri Drwenski, Stacey Garcia, JaRod Richardson, Rebecka Binion, Sharyce Williasm and Natalie York