College of Education and Professional Studies

Rocky Mountain Educational Research Association

UCO SignRocky Mountain Educational Research Association (RMERA) held it 39th Annual Meeting October 23-24, 2008, on the campus of the University of Central Oklahoma. The Conference included multiple sessions and a poster presentation event where educational practitioners and researchers shared experiences about the schooling process and population. There were over one hundred participants who attended all or part of conference, representing faculty, graduate students and practicing alumni of fourteen institutions. Among the institutions represented were the following: University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, Northeastern State University of Oklahoma, Tarleton State University-Texas, Oklahoma City Community College, University of West Florida, Federal Aviation Administration-OKC, US Postal Service-Washington, DC & Norman, George Fox University- Oregon, University of Texas-Arlington, Rogers State College-OK, University of Central Oklahoma, and several public school districts around the OKC metro.

The luncheon program was opened by Dr. James R. Machell, Dean of College of Education and Professional Studies, who welcomed the attendees. Dr. William J. Radke, Provost of the University, spoke on the University of Central Oklahoma vision. Dr. Myron L. Pope, University of Central Oklahoma Vice President, Enrollment Management, gave the invited address entitled, Accountability Among Institutions of Higher Education. In addition, The Outstanding Paper Award was awarded to Valerie Sharon of OSU and who will present her paper during the Distinguished Paper Session of the American Educational Research Association annual meeting in San Diego in the spring of 2009. A service plaque was given to Dr. Dale M. Johnson of Tarlton State University, Texas, in recognition of his many years of service to RMERA beginning as a student participant at the first RMERA meeting.

The Conference Steering Committee included the following University of Central Oklahoma faculty from the Department of Professional Teacher Education; Malinda H. Green, Conference Chairman, Jennifer J. Endicott, Frederick D. Hammond, R. Michael Nelson, and Susan C. Scott. All eight departments in the College of Education and Professional Services participated in the Conference through poster/session presentations; proposal reviewers/ session responders; facilities; program development; technology; registration and/or conference logistical support. Additional support for the Conference was provided by the University of Central Oklahoma Office of Academic Affairs, Career Services, College of Education & Professional Studies, Jackson College of Graduate Studies and the Department of Professional Teacher Education.